联合国儿童基金会执行局

联合国儿童基金会执行局庆祝与世界银行的合作伙伴关系

美国纽约,2013年2月5日 —— 联合国儿童基金会执行局召开了2013年第一次常会,重申为最弱势儿童实现平等权利的工作重点。

由于执行局将讨论并最终通过未来四年的中期战略计划(MTSP),所以对联合国儿童基金会而言,今年是关键的一年。在2015年实现千年发展目标的基础上,这项中期战略计划将为联合国儿童基金会在推进儿童权利工作方面指明方向。

© UNICEF VIDEO
世界银行与联合国儿童基金会携手在超过100个国家推行多项计划,重点在帮助最弱势群体实现平等权利。 在Realplayer中播放

提高应变能力,加强合作伙伴关系

芬兰常驻联合国代表兼执行局局长贾莫.维纳宁(Jarmo Viinanen)先生阁下在开幕致辞中称,新的中期战略计划应展现联合国儿童基金会人道主义活动的成果,尤应展现为提高社区应变能力所付出的努力。

“我们听到了联合国儿童基金会的最新承诺,强调解决不平等问题,将各项工作的中心锁定为最弱势群体,将人权、性别和环境更好地融合到所有问题中。”维纳宁先生阁下说。

观看维纳宁先生阁下对于自己的新角色——联合国儿童基金会执行局局长一职的阐述。[视频]

与世界银行合作

在就世界银行与联合国儿童基金会之间的合作而召开的特别会议上,世界银行行长金墉(Jim Yong Kim)博士首次向执行局致辞。

金博士强调了与联合国儿童基金会合作,实现儿童平等权利和消除极度贫困的重要性。

“我们都知道与全球贫困所进行的斗争还远未结束,数百万儿童的未来尚不明了。正因如此,在世界银行时,我已深知我们的使命是明晰的,那就是:消除极度贫困,建立共同繁荣。”他谈道。

© UNICEF VIDEO
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克在为联合国儿童基金会执行局会议致开幕辞时表示,迈进2013年,他的心情尤为迫切。 在Realplayer中播放

两个机构之间的合作伙伴关系在过去的五年间稳步扩大。联合国儿童基金会与世界银行在103个国家展开合作,支持在社区层面提供更好的教育、营养、卫生和安全用水的计划。通过这种合作伙伴关系,两家机构共同开发了一种识别瓶颈问题的工具 —— 帮助社区迅速确定和解决问题。

联合国儿童基金会与世界银行之间的合作伙伴关系提供了可观的资源,包括由联合国儿童基金会提供的价值9.44亿美元的采购服务。执行局成员听取了其他成功活动的报告,如扩大营养范围运动人人享有环境卫生与水资源

执行局听取了联合国儿童基金会与世界银行在四个关键地区合作情况的报告 —— 埃塞俄比亚(建设抵御旱灾的应变能力)、海地(改善母婴健康)、印度尼西亚(应对发育不良)和乌干达(通过短信和社交媒体确保政府服务惠及最弱势群体)。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克在感谢金博士出席会议时谈道,两家机构拥有一个共同的目标:“共同向着加速发展、减少贫困和实现最弱势群体平等权利益的目标而不懈努力。”

雷克先生强调,无论是在卫生、教育、儿童保护、艾滋病毒/艾滋病领域,还是在南南合作和三角合作中,“创新在援助最弱势群体的工作中至关重要。”他还指出,世界银行与联合国儿童基金会的合作,在相关国家的上述领域内推进援助工作的进程中起到了重要作用。

© UNICEF VIDEO
世界银行行长金墉博士首次在联合国儿童基金会执行局会议上致辞。在就联合国儿童基金会与世界银行之间的合作而召开的特别会议上,讨论了双方的合作伙伴关系。 在Realplayer中播放

庆祝成功,关注成果

雷克先生在执行局会议的开幕致辞中说,迈进2013年,他的心情尤为迫切。

他重点强调了一些活动所取得的成功和良好势头,如2012年6月发起的重申承诺,就已经有171个政府和超过400个民间团体及宗教组织承诺消除可预防的儿童死亡。

但是,他认为随着在2015年实现千年发展目标的最后期限日益临近,迫切需要建立一个战略框架。2014–2017中期战略计划作为这个战略框架的一部分,已经于近期与联合国发展业务活动四年期全面政策审查(QCPR)一起,在联合国大会上获得通过。“我们非常欢迎四年期全面政策审查决议,尤其欢迎对于提供和展示成果的重视。”雷克先生说。

这是联合国儿童基金会执行局继去年会议开创性地使用PaperSmart系统之后,第二次使用这套系统。这种会议方式有助于大幅节约成本和环境的可持续发展,并且为其他联合国机构召开各自的执行局会议树立了榜样。


 

 
搜索

UNICEF Executive Board

UNICEF Executive Board begins new year celebrating partnership with the World Bank

NEW YORK, United States of America, 5 February 2013—The UNICEF Executive Board opened its first regular session of 2013 with a renewed focus on equity and achieving results for the most disadvantaged children.

The current year is a significant time for UNICEF, as the Executive Board will discuss and eventually adopt its next medium-term strategic plan (MTSP) for the coming four years. The plan will map out the direction UNICEF will take in advancing child rights beyond the targets for achievement of the Millennium Development Goals in 2015.

© UNICEF VIDEO
With programmes in more than 100 countries, the World Bank-UNICEF partnership focuses on achieving equity for the most vulnerable - together.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Improving resilience, strengthening partnerships

In his introductory remarks, the Executive Board President, Permanent Representative of Finland to the United Nations H.E. Mr. Jarmo Viinanen, said the new MTSP should show the results of UNICEF’s humanitarian activities and, in particular, efforts to improve resilience in communities.

“We have heard promising updates from UNICEF about a stronger emphasis on tackling inequality, targeting activities to benefit the most vulnerable, and better integration of human rights, gender and environment on all issues,” H.E. Mr. Viinanen said.

Watch H.E. Mr. Viinanen discuss his new role as President of the UNICEF Executive Board. [video]

Collaboration with the World Bank

The Executive Board was addressed for the first time by President of the World Bank Dr. Jim Yong Kim at a special focus session on the collaboration between the World Bank and UNICEF.

Dr. Kim spoke on the importance of working together to achieve equity for children and to eradicate extreme poverty.

“We know that the fight against global poverty is far from over and that the future of millions of children still hangs in the balance. That’s why at the World Bank I have made sure our mission is clear: to end extreme poverty and build shared prosperity,” he said.

© UNICEF VIDEO
In his opening remarks to the UNICEF Executive Board, UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake says that he is approaching 2013 with added urgency.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The Executive Board heard that the partnership between the two organizations has been expanding steadily over the past five years. UNICEF works with the World Bank in 103 countries, supporting programmes that give communities better education, nutrition, health and access to safe water. Through this partnership, the two organizations have developed a tool to identify bottlenecks – helping communities to pinpoint and address problem areas quickly.

The UNICEF–World Bank partnership has provided significant resources, including US$944 million for UNICEF-provided procurement services. Executive Board members heard about other successful initiatives such as the Scaling Up Nutrition movement and Sanitation and Water for All.

The Executive Board heard about four key areas of collaboration between UNICEF and the World Bank – in Ethiopia (building resilience against drought), Haiti (improving maternal and child health), Indonesia (tackling stunting) and Uganda (ensuring government services reach the most vulnerable, through SMS and social media).

In thanking Dr. Kim for attending, UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake said the two organizations shared a common purpose: “All towards the goal of accelerating development, reducing poverty and achieving equity and results for the most disadvantaged.”

Stressing that “innovations are crucial in reaching the most disadvantanged,” whether in health, education, child protection, HIV/AIDS or South–South and triangular cooperation, Mr. Lake noted that the World Bank and UNICEF had an important role to play in advancing these efforts within these expanding areas of the development landscape.

© UNICEF VIDEO
World Bank President Dr. Jim Yong Kim addresses the UNICEF Executive Board for the first time. A special focus session on UNICEF–World Bank collaboration discussed the partnership.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Celebrating successes, focusing on results

In his opening remarks to the Executive Board, Mr. Lake said that he was approaching 2013 with added urgency.

He emphasized the success and momentum of initiatives such as A Promise Renewed, which was launched in June 2012 and already has 171 governments and more than 400 civil society and faith-based organizations committed to ending preventable child deaths.

But with the 2015 deadline for the Millennium Development Goals fast approaching, the need for a strategic framework was pressing, he said. The MTSP for 2014–2017 is part of that process, along with the quadrennial comprehensive policy review of United Nations operational activities for development (QCPR), recently adopted by the United Nations General Assembly. “We very much welcome the QCPR resolution, and particularly its emphasis on delivering and demonstrating results,” said Mr. Lake.

This is the second PaperSmart session of the UNICEF Executive Board, following last year’s ground-breaking session, which contributed to significant cost savings and environmental sustainability. It has since provided a model to other United Nations organizations in holding their own Board sessions.


 

 

New enhanced search