联合国儿童基金会执行局

联合国儿童基金会执行局关注两性平等、儿童保护和城市安全

2011 年度会议:第 3 日

蒂姆.莱德维斯报道

美国纽约,2011 年 6 月 23 日—— 三个相互关联的问题 —— 两性平等、儿童保护和城市安全 —— 昨天在联合国儿童基金会执行局纽约举行的会议上完善了相关议程。

视频:2011 年 6 月 22 日 - 联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克、联合国妇女署执行主任米歇尔.巴切莱特和联合国人居署纽约办事处塞西莉亚.马丁内斯在联合国儿童基金会执行局的“全人类的安全和友好城市”联合行动计划的启动仪式上发表演讲。  在Realplayer中播放

 

此次联合国总部会议是执行局 2011 年度会议的第三天会议。本次会议重点回顾联合国儿童基金会促进两性平等全球工作的进展情况、对保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和虐待工作成果进行深入探讨。

若干要点在当天讨论过程中显现出来。首先,性暴力严重影响贫困和被边缘化的妇女和女孩。其次,赋予妇女更多的平等权和其他权力对打击性别暴力将起到至关重要的作用。第三,城市化的提高与极端贫困,加剧的犯罪与暴力并存,妇女和儿童承受着特殊的风险。

“全人类的安全和友好城市”

需要通过增强对最弱势城市居民的保护,应对城市暴力事件的增加。昨日在执行局会议上启动的“全人类的安全和友好城市”行动计划是此类应对行动的一部分。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0845/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会执行局 2011 年度会议期间,联合国妇女署执行主任米歇尔.巴切莱特在“全人类的安全和友好城市”行动计划启动仪式上发表演讲,两侧(从左到右)为联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克、联合国儿童基金会执行局秘书尼古拉斯.普隆以及联合国人居署纽约办事处塞西莉亚.马丁内斯。

此次联合国的联合行动旨在减少暴力事件和赋予城市社区妇女和儿童相关权利。该五年方案形成联合国儿童基金会、联合国妇女署和联合国人居署的合作关系。

联合国妇女署是新近成立的联合国机构,致力于促进两性平等。联合国人居署的工作是让全人类享有适当的居住条件,包括整个发展中世界快速增加的城市家庭。

被否定的机会

“城市地区有史以来第一次生活着世界上大多数人口,”联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克在“安全和友好城市”的启动仪式上这样说道,“如果预测是真实的,那么,截至 2050 年,城市人口将占世界人口近70%。”

雷克先生指出,城市贫困的风险涵盖健康和环境卫生基础设施的不足、无法获得教育和高危暴力。“安全和友好城市”合作伙伴们将携手与“针对妇女、女孩和儿童的暴力做斗争,首先在八大城市开展斗争,且制定了未来扩展计划。”他这样说道。

作为联合国妇女署执行主任的米歇尔.巴切莱特解释道,城市暴力限制了妇女和女孩参与社区生活的自由。更重要的是,它剥夺了她们受教育、就业、参与政治和娱乐的机会。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0846/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会方案主任尼古拉斯.阿利普伊和儿童保护事务主任苏珊.比塞尔(讲台上右起第二和第三)参加了联合国儿童基金会执行局 2011 年度会议上的儿童保护讨论,旁观者有其他委员会成员以及与会者。

塑造良好城市环境

“我们的联合方案,”巴切莱特女士说,“旨在提高安全、防止和减少暴力事件 —— 动员妇女群体、青少年和儿童权利拥护者塑造自己的良好城市环境,并赋予他们这样的塑造权力。”

她补充道,借助诸如更好照明和更多社区警卫队的实际措施,“我们建议妇女委员会负责人带领委员会成员监督性暴力、虐待和犯罪的应对措施。”

“安全、友好城市”机构将基于三个合作伙伴机构的经验,与地方当局、以及妇女和青年人合作。该方案的所有参与者都将竭尽全力确定造成城市公共空间不安全的因素,并设法消除这样的不良因素。

“提供安全环境,人人有责,”联合国人居署纽约办事处塞西莉亚.马丁内斯这样说道,“只有当安全被视为城市功能必不可少的一部分时,才能有效减少犯罪和暴力事件。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0852/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会政策与实践部主任理查德.摩根在联合国儿童基金会执行局纽约举行的 2011 年度会议上报告实现两性平等的工作进展情况。

保护、安全和平等

为符合重点关注保护和安全问题的要求 - 在昨天的执行局会议上,联合国儿童基金会方案主任尼克.阿利普伊和儿童保护事务主任苏珊.比塞尔主持了有关在全球和国家层面获得的儿童保护经验教训的专题讨论。他们强调努力改变社会规范的必要性、以及使用全面、跨部门的途径保护处于紧急和非紧急危险局势下儿童的重要性。

为符合当天的平等主题,政策与实践部主任理查德.摩根提交了一份联合国儿童基金会迄今为止在两性平等工作中取得成果的总结。摩根先生指出,在初等教育方面两性差距的缩小取得很大进步,但是,在许多其他领域依然存在两性差距。

执行局 2011 年度会议今天圆满结束。


 

 

搜索

UNICEF Executive Board

UNICEF Executive Board eyes gender equality, child protection and urban safety

2011 Annual Session: Day 3

By Tim Ledwith

NEW YORK, USA, 23 June 2011 – A trio of interconnected issues – gender equality, child protection and urban safety – rounded out the agenda at yesterday’s meeting of the UNICEF Executive Board in New York.

VIDEO: 22 June 2011 - UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake, UN-Women Executive Director Michelle Bachelet and UN-Habitat New York Office Director Cecilia Martínez speak at the launch of the 'Safe and Friendly Cities for All' joint initiative during the UNICEF Executive Board meeting.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The meeting at UN headquarters marked the third day of the Executive Board’s 2011 Annual Session. It featured a progress report on UNICEF’s global efforts to advance gender equality, as well as an in-depth discussion of results on protecting children from violence, exploitation and abuse.

Several points became clear in the course of the day’s discussions. First, sexual violence disproportionately affects poor and marginalized women and girls. Second, greater equality and empowerment for women will be critical to curbing gender-based violence. And third, increased urbanization correlates with intensified poverty, crime and violence, placing women and children at particular risk.

‘Safe and Friendly Cities for All’

The rise in urban violence demands a response in the form of enhanced protection for the most vulnerable city dwellers. The launch of ‘Safe and Friendly Cities for All’ – which took place during yesterday’s Executive Board meeting – is part of that response.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0845/Markisz
UN-Women Executive Director Michelle Bachelet speaks at the launch of the 'Safe and Friendly Cities for All' initiative during the 2011 Annual Session of the UNICEF Executive Board, flanked by (from left) UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake, Secretary of the UNICEF Executive Board Nicolas Pron and UN-Habitat New York Office Cecilia Martínez.

This joint UN initiative aims to reduce violence and empower women and children in urban communities. The five-year programme constitutes a partnership between UNICEF, UN-Women and UN-Habitat.

UN-Women is the newly formed United Nations body dedicated to advocating gender equality. UN-Habitat works to provide adequate shelter for all, including households in rapidly growing cities throughout the developing world.

Opportunities denied

“For the first time, the majority of the world’s population lives in urban areas,” UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake said at the ‘Safe and Friendly Cities’ launch. “And if projections hold true, by 2050 that proportion will rise to nearly 70 per cent of the world’s population.”

Mr. Lake noted that the perils associated with urban poverty encompass inadequate health and sanitation infrastructure, lack of access to education and high levels of violence. Beginning in eight cities, with plans for future expansion, the ‘Safe and Friendly Cities’ partners will work together “to combat violence against women, girls and children,” he said.

As UN-Women Executive Director Michelle Bachelet explained, urban violence limits the freedom of women and girls to participate in community life. What’s more, it robs them of opportunities for education, employment, political involvement and recreation.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0846/Markisz
UNICEF Director of Programmes Nicholas Alipui and Associate Director for Child Protection Susan Bissell (second and third from right on dais) participate in a discussion on child protection at the 2011 Annual Session of the Executive Board as other Board members and participants look on.

Shaping the urban environment

“Our joint programme,” said Ms. Bachelet, “is designed to increase safety, prevent and reduce violence – and to mobilize and empower women’s groups, youth and children’s advocates to shape their urban environment.”

Along with practical measures such as better lighting and more community police units, she added, “we will advocate for female councillor-led committees to monitor responses to sexual violence, abuse and crime.”

Building on the expertise of the three partner agencies, ‘Safe and Friendly Cities’ will work with local authorities, and with women and young people themselves. All participants in the programme will seek to identify and address the factors that create insecurity in urban public spaces.

“There is a role for everyone in providing safety,” said UN-Habitat New York Office Director Cecilia Martínez. “It is only when safety is seen as an integral part of the city functioning that there will be an impact in reducing crime and violence.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0852/Markisz
UNICEF Director of Policy and Practice Richard Morgan reports on gender-equality work at the Annual Session of the 2011 UNICEF Executive Board in New York.

Protection, safety and equality

Also at yesterday’s Executive Board meeting – in keeping with the focus on protection and safety – UNICEF Director of Programmes Nick Alipui and Associate Director for Child Protection Susan Bissell led a thematic discussion on lessons learned in child protection at the global and country levels.

Mr. Alipui and Ms. Bissell highlighted the need to work on changing social norms with regard to abuses against children. They cited, as well, the importance of a holistic, cross-sectoral approach to protecting children in both emergency and non-emergency situations.

And in line with the day’s theme of equality, Director of Policy and Practice Richard Morgan presented a summary of results achieved to date in UNICEF’s gender-equality work. Mr. Morgan pointed to major strides toward closing the gender gap in primary education but noted that gender disparities still remained in many other areas.

The Executive Board’s 2011 Annual Session wraps up today.


 

 

New enhanced search