联合国儿童基金会执行局

尽管面临重重挑战,执行局期待为儿童争取更多权益

2011年常会开幕

美国纽约,2011 年 6 月 20 日 —— 联合国儿童基金会执行局今晨在纽约联合国总部召开 2011 年常会,会议致力于在国际经济低迷及其他全球性的挑战下为儿童争取更多的权益。

视频:2011年6月20日 — 联合国儿童基金会执行局主席、斯洛文尼亚常驻联合国代表桑嘉.斯蒂丽克阁下在执行局的 2011 年常会上发言。 在Realplayer中播放

“我们应该履行对儿童做出的承诺,尤其是千年宣言和千年发展目标所展望的承诺。”联合国儿童基金会执行局主席、斯洛文尼亚常驻联合国代表桑嘉.斯蒂丽克阁下 (Sanja Štiglic) 说。

“当今世界局势越来越动荡不安,我们希望联合国儿童基金会继续担当保护儿童及其权利的最大、最坚定的倡导者。”

进展与成果

为期四天的联合国儿童基金会管理机构常会由展示和讨论执行主任的年度报告拉开帷幕。报告涵盖了联合国儿童基金会针对2006至2013年的中期战略计划所取得的进展和成果。

“这是很不错的一年,但同时也充满着挑战。”执行主任安东尼.雷克说,“联合国儿童基金会各部门不断深化我们的工作重点,致力于帮助最弱势儿童。”

视频:2011 年 6 月 20 日 – 执行主任安东尼.雷克在联合国儿童基金会执行局的 2011 年常会上致开幕词。 在Realplayer中播放

在雷克先生对年度报告进行说明(随后政策与实践主任理查德.摩根进行了更加详细的阐释)时,他列举出联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴在过去的一年遇到的动荡事件。

“巴基斯坦、日本和其他地区灾难连连、海地爆发霍乱、食品价格不断上涨、气候变化的影响持续增大、许多国家和地区爆发内乱,这些都造成了巨大损失。”他说。

核心资源急剧减少

全球金融危机对世界最贫困和处于最边缘状态的儿童造成的威胁正在不断增加,雷克先生指出:“因为许多捐助国政府削减了援助预算,许多合作伙伴政府部门缩减了社会开支。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0841/Markisz
在联合国儿童基金会执行局 2011 年常会上,执行主任安东尼.雷克与(左起)副执行主任希尔德.约翰逊、副执行主任马丁.莫格万加、2011 执行局主席及大使桑嘉.斯蒂丽克以及执行局秘书长尼克拉斯.普朗交谈。
对于联合国儿童基金会,这种缩减表现在近两年内,每年的核心资源正急剧减少。为了解决资源急剧减少问题,联合国儿童基金会正在建议缩减 2012 至 2013 年的预算,尤其是总部的预算。雷克先生强调,预算的削减不会影响在各国进行的项目的运转。

“我们的预算必须确保联合国儿童基金会有能力通过在各国实施的项目保障儿童的权益,即使在紧急状况和人道主义危机情况下也不例外。”他说,“这意味着不会削减联合国儿童基金会国家项目的预算,因为我们正在进行和计划进行的工作都依赖于在这一领域取得的成果。”

2012-2013 年度目标

执行主任的报告向执行局成员和代表全方位展示了联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴去年在主要领域取得的成果。报告还概述了接下来两年的计划目标。

例如,雷克先生指出“彻底根除脊髓灰质炎”以及大力推广针对两大儿童头号杀手肺炎和腹泻的新疫苗的必要性。

关于儿童和艾滋病问题,他说,通过对感染病毒的孕妇进行抗逆转录病毒治疗,可以防止婴幼儿和儿童出现新增感染病例,如此“我们有机会使一代人免受艾滋病感染”。
UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0842/Markisz
副执行主任希尔德.约翰逊(左)出席了联合国儿童基金会执行局 2011 年常会,她为世界儿童做出的努力赢得了与会者的掌声。

雷克先生接着详细阐述其他目标,包括减少阻碍幼儿正常发育的慢性营养不良;保护儿童免遭暴力、剥削和虐待;以及为所有儿童尤其是女孩提供优质教育。

“更好的联合国儿童基金会”

雷克先生强调,要实现这些及其他目标,关键在于“建立更好的联合国儿童基金会”。为此,他在报告中提出了未来几年提升机构实用性、加大反应力度、提高工作效率、增大透明度和协作性的一系列基准。

“我无法承诺到 2013 年我们可以实现所有目标,但我们一定会尽最大努力。”雷克先生对执行局说,“我希望你们可以督促我们负责任地完成工作。”

除年度报告外,雷克先生还宣布了联合国儿童基金会高级管理层中发生的两个主要变动。他说,首先,最近担任比尔与梅林达.盖茨基金会高级研究员吉塔.拉奥.古普塔担任了机构的副执行主任。其次,副执行主任希尔德.约翰逊不久将离开联合国儿童基金会。

 


 

 

搜索

UNICEF Executive Board

Executive Board looks to greater results for children despite challenges

2011 Annual Session begins

NEW YORK, USA, 20 June 2011 – The UNICEF Executive Board kicked off its 2011 Annual Session at UN headquarters in New York this morning with an eye towards achieving greater results for children despite the international economic downturn and other global challenges.

VIDEO: 20 June 2011 – UNICEF’s Executive Board President, Her Excellency Sanja Štiglic, Permanent Representative of Slovenia to the United Nations, addresses the Executive Board’s 2011 Annual Session.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“We owe it to children to live up to the promises we have made to them, most urgently those of the Millennium Declaration and Millennium Development Goals,” said UNICEF’s Executive Board President, Her Excellency Sanja Štiglic, Permanent Representative of Slovenia to the United Nations.

“In today’s increasingly insecure world,” she added, “we rely on UNICEF to continue to be the world’s greatest and most steadfast champion of children and their rights.”

Progress and achievements

This four-day session of UNICEF’s governing body began with a presentation and discussion of the Executive Director’s Annual Report. The report covers progress and achievements against the organization’s medium-term strategic plan for 2006 through 2013.

“It has been a good year, but a challenging one,” said Executive Director Anthony Lake. “Every part of UNICEF has been working on deepening our focus on reaching the most disadvantaged children.”

VIDEO: 20 June 2011 – Executive Director Anthony Lake makes his opening statement at the 2011 Annual Session of the UNICEF Executive Board.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

In his remarks about the Annual Report – which preceded a more detailed presentation by Director of Policy and Practice Richard Morgan – Mr. Lake listed some of the tumultuous events that UNICEF and its partners have faced in the past year.

“Cascading catastrophes in Pakistan, Japan and elsewhere, the cholera challenge in Haiti, the continued rise in food prices, the increasing effects of climate change, and political strife in many countries have all taken their toll,” he said.

Decline in core resources

And the world financial crisis poses an ongoing threat to the world’s poorest and most marginalized children, Mr. Lake noted, “as many donor governments cut their aid budgets, and many partner governments cut social spending.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0841/Markisz
Executive Director Anthony Lake speaks from the dais at the 2011 Annual Session of the UNICEF Executive Board with (from left) Deputy Executive Director Hilde F. Johnson, Deputy Executive Director Martin Mogwanja, President of the 2011 Executive Board, Ambassador Sanja Štiglic, and Executive Board Secretary Nicolas Pron.

At UNICEF, the downturn has been reflected in a decline in core resources for each of the past two years. To address that decline, budget reductions are being recommended for 2012 and 2013, primarily at the headquarters level. Mr. Lake emphasized that the cuts will not affect country-programme operations.

“Our budget must protect UNICEF’s capacity to act on behalf of children through our country programmes, including in emergencies and humanitarian crises,” he said. “This means no cuts in UNICEF country programmes, because everything we’re doing – and everything we aim to do – depends on the results we are able to achieve in the field.”

Goals for 2012-2013

The Executive Director’s report gave Executive Board members and delegates a wide-ranging overview of the results that UNICEF and its partners achieved in its main focus areas last year. It also outlined programmatic aims for the next two years.

For example, Mr. Lake pointed to the imperative “to eradicate polio once and for all,” and to greatly expand the use of new vaccines against the two biggest killers of children: pneumonia and diarrhoea.

On the issue of children and AIDS, he said, “we have the chance to be well on the road to achieving a generation free of HIV” through wider access to anti-retroviral treatment for pregnant women living with the virus – treatment that will eliminate new infections in infants and children.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0842/Markisz
Participants in the 2011 Annual Session of the UNICEF Executive Board applaud Deputy Executive Director Hilde F. Johnson (left) for her efforts on behalf of the world’s children.

Mr. Lake went on to detail additional goals involving the reduction of chronic under-nutrition, which can lead to stunting in young children; protection of children from violence, exploitation and abuse; and provision of access to a quality education for all children, with a particular focus on girls.

‘A better UNICEF’

One key to attaining these and other objectives is “building a better UNICEF,” asserted Mr. Lake. To that end, his report laid out a series of benchmarks for making the agency more effective, responsive, efficient, transparent and collaborative in the coming years.

“I cannot promise you that we will accomplish all we hope to by 2013, but I can promise that we will try,” Mr. Lake told the Executive Board. “I expect you to hold us accountable for that.”

Beyond the Annual Report, Mr. Lake announced two major changes in senior management at UNICEF. First, he said, Geeta Rao Gupta – most recently Senior Fellow at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, has joined the organization as Deputy Executive Director. And second, Deputy Executive Director Hilde F. Johnson will be leaving UNICEF soon.


 

 


New enhanced search