联合国儿童基金会执行局

执行委员会会议圆满结束,支持采取具有前瞻性的措施

决策支持为均衡地实现发展目标而努力

蒂姆.莱德威斯报道

美国纽约,2010年9月13日 – 2010年联合国儿童基金会执行委员会第二次常规会议于上周闭幕,会议通过了一系列决议,这将在今后几年引导组织上的优先事项、开展各项行动和发展伙伴关系,未来几年将是争取在2015年的最后期限前实现千年发展目标的关键时期。

视频:2010年9月9日 – 联合国儿童基金会执行委员会主席阿布卡拉姆.阿卜杜勒.穆明博士阁下,在2010年委员会第二次常规会议上发表闭幕致辞。

孟加拉国常驻联合国代表、2010年联合国儿童基金会执行委员会主席阿布卡拉姆.阿卜杜勒.穆明(Abulkalam Abdul Momen)博士阁下在发表闭幕致辞时说到,在联合国总部纽约举行的这三天会议期间,他非常欣赏代表们所展示出的“真诚的合作与妥协精神”。

他说,正是由于这种精神,“我们才能够进一步洽谈,并达成11项决议,这也是近期达成决议最多的一次会议。”

“注重实效”

穆明博士指出,最近的这次会议讨论的大部分问题有关联合国儿童基金会的“核心事业”,如监测与评价报道、战略性的规划、财政预算以及私有部门筹款目标等。委员会在会议最后一天还强调了人力资源管理问题,指出要引进并留住高素质人才,同时也要贯彻“国际公共部门会计准则”。

UNICEF Photo
© NYHQ2010-1718/Markisz
闭幕会上就座于主席台的是联合国儿童基金会执行委员会成员(左起):联合国儿童基金会艾滋病毒/艾滋病主任吉米.科勒,副执行主任希尔德.F.约翰逊,执行主任安东尼.雷克,执行委员会副主席切萨卡.切帕兹娃,执行委员会秘书长尼克拉斯.普朗,副执行主任萨阿德.胡里,执行委员会副秘书长克里斯蒂娜.穆伊佳娜。

穆明博士说:“在全球经济衰退的大背景下,联合国儿童基金会制定了审慎的财政规划,力求提高效率,并加强其管理和运作的有效性,注重实效。”

执行委员会还探讨了六个新国家项目,并通过了13个国家和地区的项目文件,使联合国儿童基金会可以在未来五年在各个国家优先开展战略性活动。

穆明博士说,通过会议的讨论以及会议上所提交的另外30个国家项目的中期回顾, 代表们“见证了联合国儿童基金会同政府和民间伙伴精诚合作,致力于提高和改善儿童的生活”。

合作伙伴关系的重要作用

合作伙伴关系实际上是上周会议的首要主题,有关这一主题通过的重要决议是,执行委员会将扩大联合国儿童基金会的合作范围,儿基会将与“扶轮国际(Rotary International)”合作,在全球彻底消除小儿麻痹症。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1721/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会人力资源主任克里斯蒂娜.劳埃德在2010年联合国儿童基金会执行委员会第二次常规会议上发表讲话。

穆明博士说,与“扶轮国际”保持长期的合作伙伴关系能够“几近根除曾使数百万儿童和成人受到伤害的疾病”。

联合国儿童基金会艾滋病毒/艾滋病主任吉米.科勒(Jimmy Kolker)提到了在另一领域的合作——与联合国艾滋病规划署(UNAIDS)的最新合作伙伴关系,联合国儿童基金会同九个联合国其他机构合作,预防和阻止艾滋病毒在世界范围内的蔓延。

联合国开发计划署、联合国人口基金和联合国儿童基金会共同发布了一份报告,提出了统一预算编制的蓝图,其中与联合国其他机构的合作,以及构建全系统协调一致的联合国的目标也是报告的主题。执行委员会通过了报告的建议,报告同时也展示了三个机构提高效率、注重实效,争取到2014年迈向统一预算目标而取得的进展。

均衡的方式

总而言之,执行委员会会议突出强调,为应对儿童和妇女(他们因诸如巴基斯坦洪水灾害、尼日尔食品危机和海地地震等紧急状况而处于困境)所面临的挑战,有必要采取更协调的方式。

 

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1717/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克在2010年联合国儿童基金会执行委员会第二次常规会议的闭幕会上发表讲话。

在执行会议上所发表的讲话和报告中,穆明博士、执行主任安东尼.雷克和其他发言人再三重申关注儿童问题的重要性,不仅要在危机时刻帮助他们,还要在更广阔的发展领域施以援手。

此次会议也正逢联合国儿童基金会发布“儿童进展报告”,报告调查结果显示:针对世界最贫困的弱势儿童和家庭而采取的均衡的方式为有望在2015年实现千年发展目标提供了最有效的途径,会议深刻领悟了报告并在很多方面得到启示。

联合国有关千年发展目标的高层全体会议即将于下周在纽约召开,穆明博士敦促代表要时刻考虑到平等问题。他说:“我们要知道,所有的目标都紧系儿童,我们作为国际社会的领导人承担着特殊责任,要确保目标得以实现,从而所有儿童能够无一例外地受到保护,并接受良好的教育,健康成长。”



 

 
搜索

UNICEF Executive Board

Executive Board wraps productive session with approval of forward-looking measures

Decisions support effort to achieve development goals with equity

By Tim Ledwith

NEW YORK, USA, 13 September 2010 – UNICEF’s Executive Board concluded its second regular session of 2010 last week by approving a wide range of decisions that will guide organizational priorities, operations and partnerships in the crucial years to come – years leading up to the 2015 target date for achievement of the Millennium Development Goals.

VIDEO: 9 September 2010 - His Excellency Dr. Abulkalam Abdul Momen, President of the UNICEF Executive Board, delivers closing remarks at the Board's second regular session of 2010.

 

In his closing statement, His Excellency Dr. Abulkalam Abdul Momen, Permanent Representative of Bangladesh to the UN and President of the 2010 UNICEF Executive Board, said he appreciated the “spirit of genuine cooperation and compromise” demonstrated by delegates during the three-day meeting at UN headquarters in New York.

Thanks to that spirit, he said, “we were able to negotiate and adopt 11 decisions – one of the largest numbers of any recent session.

‘Drive for results’

Dr. Momen noted that much of this latest session dealt with UNICEF’s “core business” – including reports on monitoring and evaluation, strategic planning, financial projections and private-sector fundraising goals. Board discussions on the session’s final day also addressed human resources management to attract and retain high-quality staff, as well as the implementation of International Public Sector Accounting Standards.

UNICEF Image
© NYHQ2010-1718/Markisz
On dais for the closing meeting of the UNICEF Executive Board session (from left): HIV/AIDS Chief Jimmy Kolker, Deputy Executive Director Hilde F. Johnson, Executive Director Anthony Lake, Executive Board Vice President Chitsaka Chipaziwa, Executive Board Secretary Nicolas Pron, Deputy Executive Director Saad Houry and Executive Board Assistant Secretary Christine Muhigana.

“UNICEF is charting a prudent financial course in the context of the global economic downturn,” said Dr. Momen. “UNICEF is striving to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of its operations and processes – and the drive for results.

The Executive Board also considered six new country programmes and approved 13 country and area programme documents setting strategic priorities for UNICEF’s work on the ground in each respective country for the next five years.

In these discussions – and in mid-term reviews of another 30 country programmes presented during the session – delegates “saw how UNICEF is working with governments and civil society partners to reach and enhance the lives of more children,” said Dr. Momen.

Key role of partnerships

Partnership was, in fact, an overarching theme of last week’s session. One key decision in this area was the Executive Board’s extension of UNICEF’s cooperation with Rotary International for global polio eradication.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1721/Markisz
UNICEF Human Resources Director Christine Lloyd speaks at the second regular session of the 2010 UNICEF Executive Board.

The long-standing Rotary partnership “has brought about the near-eradication of a disease that once crippled millions of children and adults,” said Dr. Momen.

The Chief of UNICEF’s HIV/AIDS Section, Jimmy Kolker, updated the delegates on another area of cooperation, the UNAIDS partnership, in which UNICEF works jointly with nine sister UN agencies to stop and reverse the spread of HIV worldwide.

Partnerships with other UN agencies – and the related goal of system-wide UN coherence – were also the subject of a joint report by the United Nations Development Programme, the United Nations Population Fund and UNICEF on the roadmap towards an integrated budget. The report, whose recommendations the Executive Board approved, showed progress towards harmonized budgeting by the three agencies by 2014 in order to increase efficiencies and enhance results.

An equity-based approach

Overall, the Executive Board session highlighted the need for a more coordinated approach to tackle challenges affecting children and women, including those caught in emergency situations, such as the ongoing flood disaster in Pakistan, the food crisis in Niger and the earthquake in Haiti.

 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1717/Markisz
UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake speaks at the closing meeting of the UNICEF Executive Board's second regular session of the 2010.

Indeed, in statements and presentations throughout the Executive Board session, Dr. Momen, Executive Director Anthony Lake and others repeatedly drove home the critical importance of reaching every child – not only in emergencies but in the wider development arena.

Coinciding as it did with the release of UNICEF’s flagship ‘Progress for Children’ report, the session as a whole was informed and energized by that report’s signature finding: that an equity-based approach, targeting the world’s poorest and most vulnerable children and families, offers the best hope and most cost-effective path to reaching the Millennium Development Goals by 2015.

Dr. Momen urged delegates to keep equity in mind as the UN High-Level Plenary Meeting on the MDGs convenes next week in New York. “We must remember that all the goals pertain to children,” he said. “We as leaders in the international community have a special responsibility to ensure that the goals are met so that every child, without exception, can grow up healthy, educated and protected.”


 

 

New enhanced search