Conseil d'administration

Deuxième journée de la seconde session régulière du Conseil d’administration : approbation des programmes de pays et de zone

Image de l'UNICEF
© UNICEF video
The UNICEF Executive Board meets for the second day of its second regular session of 2009. From left: Deputy Executive Director Saad Houry, Executive Director Ann M. Veneman, 2009 Executive Board President Oumar Daou, Board Secretary Kirsi Madi, Deputy Executive Director Omar Abdi and Evaluation Office Director Finbar O'Brien.

NEW YORK, États-Unis, 16 septembre 2009 – La seconde session ordinaire 2009 de l’UNICEF s’est poursuivie hier, dans sa deuxième journée, par l’adoption de 16 programmes de pays et de zone révisés. Il y avait parmi eux les projets d’action de l’UNICEF en Afghanistan, au Botswana, au Burundi, en Équateur, dans la zone du Golfe et au Liban.

Dix programmes adoptés concernaient des pays d’Europe centrale et orientale et la Communauté d’États indépendants, l’ECO/CEI. Le Directeur régional pour l’ECO/CEI, Steven Allen, a présenté des examens à mi-parcours relatifs à sept programmes de pays en cours. Il a fait observer que la baisse de l’activité économique dans le monde avait entraîné une contraction du PIB de 5 à 6 pour cent dans toute la région.

M. Allen a précisé que cette contraction avait été particulièrement sévère au Kirghizistan et en Ukraine, affectant la réforme de la protection sociale et la qualité des services sociaux de base.

« Les progrès dans la réalisation des [Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement] dans les sept pays risquent d’être compromis, » a-t-il dit, « en particulier dans les zones où il y a de larges pans de la population des enfants demeurant vulnérables. » Il a toutefois ajouté que l’action de coopération avait donné de bons résultats dans les programmes de développement de la petite enfance, en ce qui concerne un bon nombre de pays, notamment en Géorgie.

La Géorgie est sur la bonne voie
La Première dame de Géorgie, Sandra Elisabeth Roelofs, a participé à l’examen à mi-parcours du programme de pays de l’UNICEF en Géorgie, en tant que présidente du Conseil national géorgien pour la santé procréative. Lors de la réunion du Conseil d’administration, elle s’est déclarée convaincue que la Géorgie était sur la bonne voie pour « la plupart des OMD. »

Mme Roelofs a dit que le Gouvernement géorgien était heureux de l’implication de l’UNICEF, afin d’assurer dans le pays la santé et le développement des enfants. Elle a mentionné, en particulier, le rôle de l’UNICEF dans le travail du Groupe thématique des Nations Unies sur le VIH/SIDA, et dans l’action en faveur du placement des enfants en milieu ouvert.

« Nous vous soutenons totalement, » a-t-elle dit.

Aperçus régionaux
Tous les directeurs régionaux de l’UNICEF ont participé à la réunion et présenté un résumé des examens à mi-parcours des programmes de pays menés dans leur région en 2008.

Trois directeurs régionaux – Bernt Aasen, pour l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes, Elhadj As Sy, pour l’Afrique de l’Est et l’Afrique australe, et le Dr Gianfranco Rotigliano, pour l’Afrique de l’Ouest et du Centre – se sont exprimés pour la première fois devant le Conseil d’administration au titre de leurs fonctions.

 M. Aasen et M. As Sy ont en outre soumis au conseil leurs nouveaux programmes de pays. Ainsi, M. As Sy a présenté le projet de programme pour l’Ouganda, où un conflit de 21 ans a pris fin en 2007, ce qui a permis le retour progressif, chez elles, de plus d’un million de personnes déplacées. Le programme prévoit autour de 241 millions de dollars É.-U. de financements, dont près de 75 millions de dollars É.-U. pour des interventions relatives à la santé et à la nutrition.

Une « triple menace » en Afrique australe
Dans ses déclarations devant le Conseil d’administration, M. As Sy a insisté sur la « triple menace » pesant sur l’Afrique australe. Il a observé qu’il fallait s’attaquer à ces trois éléments associés, le VIH/SIDA, l’extrême pauvreté et l’insécurité alimentaire, pour que les progrès réalisés dans le développement ne soient pas anéantis.

Pour les programmes de pays d’Afrique australe, une bonne partie des modifications préconisées à mi-parcours étaient axées sur un accroissement des projets de protection sociale, relatifs au VIH/SIDA, sur le travail des enfants, sur la traite et la prostitution des enfants.

Les nouveaux programmes de pays proposés, de même que les examens à mi-parcours des programmes en cours, « contribuent à la réalisation des OMD, sont cohérents avec le plan stratégique à mi-parcours de l’UNICEF et sont conformes aux priorités de développement du pays. Tous sont axés sur les résultats, privilégient les droits humains et reposent sur des données factuelles, » a déclaré M. As Sy.

L’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes
M. Aasen a présenté de nouveaux programmes de pays pour l’Argentine et le Guatemala. Il a déclaré au Conseil d’administration avoir été encouragé par un certain nombre de développements positifs intervenus en Amérique latine et aux Caraïbes, notamment les programmes de transfert monétaire soumis à des conditions, introduits dans 15 pays. Les transferts en vue d’une réduction de la pauvreté bénéficient à environ 21 millions de familles.

« Cela indique une volonté de la part des gouvernements d’accroître les dépenses sociales, » a déclaré M. Aasen.

Le projet de programme pour l’Argentine constitue un modèle d’une « nouvelle génération de programme de pays que prépare l’UNICEF pour les pays à revenu moyen, » a-t-il ajouté. « Nous tentons de nous positionner dans le dialogue avec le gouvernement sur la politique et nous espérons être un bon défenseur de toute la société argentine. »

La session du Conseil d’administration s’achève aujourd’hui. À l’ordre du jour, figurent entre autres sujets un suivi par l’organisation des recommandations du Conseil de coordination du programme de l’ONUSIDA et une discussion sur les événements prévus au niveau de l’UNICEF pour la célébration du 20ème anniversaire de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant en novembre.



 

 

Vidéo (en anglais)



Elhadj As Sy, Directeur régional de l’UNICEF, débat de l’action de l’UNICEF en Afrique de l’Est et en Afrique australe lors de la session du Conseil d’administration.
 VIDÉO  haut | bas



Bernt Aasen, Directeur régional de l’UNICEF, procède à l’examen des progrès réalisés et des défis à relever en Amérique latine et aux Caraïbes.
 VIDÉO  haut | bas

Approved country programmes

On 15 September 2009, the Executive Board approved revised country and area programme documents for:

Afghanistan
Armenia
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Botswana
Bulgaria
Burundi
Ecuador
Gulf Area sub-regional programme
Kazakhstan
Lebanon
the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
Montenegro
Romania
Tajikistan
Turkmenistan
Uzbekistan

Mid-term reviews

UNICEF’s Regional Directors presented summaries of mid-term reviews covering the following country programmes in their respective regions:

Central and Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States: Albania, Belarus, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Russian Federation, Turkey and Ukraine

East Asia and the Pacific: Cambodia, People’s Republic of China, Indonesia and Viet Nam

Eastern and Southern Africa: Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland and Zambia

West and Central Africa: Burkina Faso, Chad and Ghana

Americas and the Caribbean: Guyana and Peru

Middle East and North Africa: Islamic Republic of Iran and Iraq

South Asia: Bangladesh

 

Recherche

UNICEF Executive Board

Executive Board day 2: Country and area programmes approved

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
The UNICEF Executive Board meets for the second day of its second regular session of 2009. From left: Deputy Executive Director Saad Houry, Executive Director Ann M. Veneman, 2009 Executive Board President Oumar Daou, Board Secretary Kirsi Madi, Deputy Executive Director Omar Abdi and Evaluation Office Director Finbar O'Brien.

NEW YORK, USA, 16 September 2009 – The UNICEF Executive Board continued its second regular session of 2009 yesterday with the adoption of 16 revised country and area programmes. Among them were the plans for UNICEF’s work in Afghanistan, Botswana, Burundi, Ecuador, the Gulf Area and Lebanon.

Ten of the adopted programmes were for countries in Central and Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States, or CEE/CIS. Regional Director for CEE/CIS Steven Allen presented the mid-term reviews of seven ongoing country programmes by noting that the global economic downturn has caused GDP to contract by 5 to 6 per cent throughout the region.

Mr. Allen noted that the contraction has been particularly severe in Kyrgyzstan and Ukraine, affecting social-protection reforms and the quality of basic social services.

“Progress on [the Millennium Development Goals] in all seven countries is at risk,” he said, “especially in areas where large sections of the child population remain vulnerable.” He added, however, that cooperative action has brought good results in early childhood development programmes in many countries, including Georgia.

Georgia on track
The First Lady of Georgia, Sandra Elisabeth Roelofs, participated in the mid-term of the UNICEF country programme in Georgia, as chair of her country’s National Reproductive Health Council. At the Executive Board meeting, she expressed confidence that Georgia was on track for “most of the MDG’s.”

Ms. Roelofs said the Government of Georgia was pleased with UNICEF’s involvement in ensuring child health and development there. In particular, she noted UNICEF’s role in the work of the United Nations Theme Group on HIV/AIDS, and in promoting policies to deinstitutionalize children.

“We will fully support you,” she said.

Regional overviews
All of UNICEF’s Regional Directors attended the meeting, presenting summaries of mid-term country programme reviews conducted in their regions in 2008.

Three of the Regional Directors – Bernt Aasen from Latin America and the Caribbean, Elhadj As Sy from Eastern and Southern Africa, and Dr. Gianfranco Rotigliano from West and Central Africa – were addressing the Executive Board in that capacity for the first time.

Mr. Aasen and Mr. As Sy also submitted new country programmes to the board. For example, Mr. As Sy presented the draft programme for Uganda, where 21 years of conflict came to an end in 2007, allowing for the gradual return of more than a million displaced people to their homes. The programme outlines $241 million in funding, with almost $75 million for health and nutrition interventions.

‘Triple threat’ in southern Africa
In his remarks to the Executive Board, Mr. As Sy pointed to the “triple threat” facing southern Africa. He noted that the combination of HIV/AIDS, extreme poverty and food insecurity has to be addressed if development gains are not to be lost.

Many of the recommended mid-term alterations to southern African country programmes focused on the expansion of social-protection plans to address HIV/AIDS, as well as child labour, child trafficking and child prostitution.

Both the proposed new country programmes and the mid-term review of current programmes, said Mr. As Sy, “contribute to MDG achievement, are in line with the UNICEF mid-term strategic plan and are aligned with national development priorities. They are all results-based, human rights-based and evidence-based.”

Latin America and the Caribbean
Mr. Aasen submitted new country programmes for both Argentina and Guatemala. He told the Executive Board he was encouraged by many positive developments in Latin America and the Caribbean, including the expansion of conditional cash transfer programmes into 15 countries. The poverty-reduction transfers benefit some 21 million families.

“It shows a willingness from the governments to increase social spending,” said Mr. Aasen.

The draft programme for Argentina is a model of a “new generation of country programme that UNICEF is preparing for middle-income countries,” he added. “We are trying to position ourself in the policy dialogue with the government and, hopefully, be a good convener of the whole Argentinean society.”

The Executive Board session concludes today. On the agenda – among other items – are an organizational follow-up to recommendations of the UNAIDS Programme Coordinating Board and a discussion about planned UNICEF events commemorating the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child in November.


 

 

Video



UNICEF Regional Director Elhadj As Sy discusses UNICEF’s work in Eastern and Southern Africa at the Executive Board session.
 VIDEO  high | low



UNICEF Regional Director Bernt Aasen reviews progress and challenges in Latin America and the Caribbean.
 VIDEO  high | low

Approved country programmes

On 15 September 2009, the Executive Board approved revised country and area programme documents for:

Afghanistan
Armenia
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Botswana
Bulgaria
Burundi
Ecuador
Gulf Area sub-regional programme
Kazakhstan
Lebanon
the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
Montenegro
Romania
Tajikistan
Turkmenistan
Uzbekistan

Mid-term reviews

UNICEF’s Regional Directors presented summaries of mid-term reviews covering the following country programmes in their respective regions:

Central and Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States: Albania, Belarus, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Russian Federation, Turkey and Ukraine

East Asia and the Pacific: Cambodia, People’s Republic of China, Indonesia and Viet Nam

Eastern and Southern Africa: Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland and Zambia

West and Central Africa: Burkina Faso, Chad and Ghana

Americas and the Caribbean: Guyana and Peru

Middle East and North Africa: Islamic Republic of Iran and Iraq

South Asia: Bangladesh

 

New enhanced search