联合国儿童基金会执行局

执行局在2009年第一次例会的开幕式上欢迎新任局长

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ09-0064/Markisz
执行主任安.M.维尼曼在执行局2009年的第一次例会上与联合国儿童基金会的新任局长奥马尔.达欧大使握手。左为副执行主任希尔德.约翰逊。

洛西尼.卡瓦尔报道

美国纽约,2009年2 月4日 – 联合国儿童基金会执行局于2009年第一次例会的第一天迎来了新任局长奥马尔.达欧(Oumar Daou)大使阁下,他是马里常驻联合国代表。

执行主任安.M.维尼曼说她期待着与达欧大使合作,并预言2009年对于执行局来说将是富有成效的一年。执行局为联合国儿童基金会的理事机构。本届执行局会议正在联合国总部举行,直至2月6日结束。

维尼曼还感谢了离任的局长、瑞典的安德斯.利登(Anders Lidén)大使 和离任副局长、危地马拉常驻联合国代表格特.罗森塔尔(Gert Rosenthal)大使及马来西亚常驻联合国代表哈米登.阿里大使,感谢他们在过去的一年中所作的贡献。

在儿童健康和儿童生存方面取得的进展

维尼曼继续强调了联合国儿童基金会在实现2015年千年发展目标的征程中为儿童健康所开展的工作。她强调在降低五岁以下儿童死亡率方面正在取得积极的进展;2007年五岁以下儿童死亡人数为920万,而1990年该数字为1280万。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ09-0067/Markisz
即将离任的联合国儿童基金会执行局局长安德斯.利登大使(中)在执行局2009年的第一次例会上讲话。例会在联合国纽约总部举行。

执行主任还提到全球对预防疟疾的驱虫蚊帐的生产也有所增加。蚊帐的生产数量从2004年的3000万顶增加到2008年的1亿顶。

另外,在2010年消灭麻疹病例的最后期限到来前,全球已经接近了完成这一目标的90%大关。但是在麻疹免疫方面还有很多尚未完成的工作,尤其是在印度。

维尼曼还强调在预防和治疗艾滋病方面也取得了大跨步的进展——尤其是扩大了现有服务以预防母婴传播艾滋病毒,以及对儿科艾滋病病例的治疗。

“世界儿童状况”

联合国儿童基金会旗舰报告《世界儿童状况2009》的调查结果是维尼曼讲话的另一个重点之处。

今年的报告主要探讨了孕产妇和新生儿健康。报告显示每年约50万的孕产妇死亡中有99%发生在发展中国家,在这些国家中分娩仍是妇女健康的最大威胁。

维尼曼说,联合国儿童基金会继续与伙伴合作以缩小发展中国家和工业化国家之间孕产妇保健的差距。

应对全球粮食危机

维尼曼还重申了联合国儿童基金会应对全球粮食危机的承诺。

粮食危机、粮食供给的减少以及很多发展中国家营养不良的状况使全世界受缺乏粮食保障影响的人数不断上升。维尼曼说缺乏粮食保障是联合国儿童基金会必须继续解决的众多人道主义危机之一。

她说为了回应粮食危机,联合国儿童基金会在埃塞俄比亚的一个项目利用手机和短信息监测并跟踪“肥果”的供给,这是为营养不良的儿童提供的一种开袋即食的食疗食品。实时获取肥果库存的数据帮助联合国儿童基金会更加有效地满足儿童的营养需求。

帮助紧急状况中的儿童

维尼曼还谈论到为受冲突影响的儿童提供人道主义援助的重要性——不仅仅在加沙地带,还在其它的国家,如阿富汗、索马里亚、斯里兰卡和刚果民主共和国。

紧急状况越来越复杂化,而它们产生的影响也越来越具摧毁性,尤其是对脆弱的儿童。维尼曼向执行局表示联合国儿童基金会仍致力于为受灾难影响的儿童提供救命的援助——并在最艰难的环境中保护儿童的权利。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年2月4日:联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.M.维尼曼在执行局2009年第一次例会的开幕式上致词。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

UNICEF Executive Board

Executive Board welcomes new President at opening of first 2009 session

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ09-0064/Markisz
Executive Director Ann M. Veneman shakes hands with the incoming UNICEF Executive Board President, Ambassador Oumar Daou, at the board’s first regular session of 2009. Deputy Executive Director Hilde Johnson is at left.

By Roshni Karwal

NEW YORK, USA, 4 February 2009 – On the first day of its first regular session of 2009, UNICEF’s Executive Board welcomed its new President, His Excellency Ambassador Oumar Daou, Permanent Representative of Mali to the United Nations.

VIDEO: Watch now

Executive Director Ann M. Veneman said she looked forward to working with Ambassador Daou and predicted that 2009 would be a productive year for the board, which is UNICEF’s governing body. The current board session is taking place at United Nations headquarters through 6 February.

Veneman also thanked the outgoing President, Ambassador Anders Lidén of Sweden – along with the outgoing Vice Presidents, Ambassador Gert Rosenthal, Permanent Representative of Guatemala, and Ambassador Hamidon Ali, Permanent Representative of Malaysia – for their work and commitment over the past year.

Progress on health and child survival

Veneman went on to highlight UNICEF’s work on health in the run-up to the 2015 deadline for achievement of the Millennium Development Goals. She noted that progress is being made in reducing the mortality rate for children under five; in 2007 there were 9.2 million under-five deaths, compared to 12.8 million in 1990.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ09-0067/Markisz
The outgoing UNICEF Executive Board President, Ambassador Anders Lidén (centre), speaks at the board’s first regular session of 2009, held at United Nations headquarters in New York.

The Executive Director remarked, as well, on the rise in global production of insecticide-treated bed nets to prevent malaria. Production increased from 30 million nets in 2004 to 100 million in 2008.

In addition, Veneman pointed out that the world is approaching the 90 per cent mark in reduction of measles cases before the 2010 deadline for that milestone. But much work remains to be done on measles immunization, notably in India.

Veneman also stressed that strides are being made in HIV/AIDS prevention and treatment – particularly the prevention of mother-to-child transmission of HIV, as well as treatment of paediatric AIDS cases.

‘The State of the World’s Children’

The findings of UNICEF’s flagship report, ‘The State of the World’s Children 2009’, were another highlight of Veneman’s address to the board.

This year’s report focuses on maternal and newborn health. It shows that 99 per cent of the estimated 500,000 annual maternal deaths take place in the developing world, where having a child remains one of the most serious health risks for women.

UNICEF continues to work with its partners to close the maternal health gap between developing and industrialized nations, Veneman said.

Addressing food insecurity

Veneman then reiterated UNICEF’s commitment to coping with global food insecurity.

The number of people affected by food insecurity around the world is increasing due to rising prices, decreased supply and lack of access to nutrition in many developing countries. Food insecurity is one of the many ongoing humanitarian crisis that UNICEF must continue to address, Veneman said.

In response to the food crisis, she noted, one UNICEF project in Ethiopia uses cell phones and SMS text messaging to monitor and track supplies of Plumpy’nut, a ready-to-eat therapeutic food for undernourished children. Having real-time data on where Plumpy’nut stocks are available allows UNICEF to meet child nutrition needs more effectively.

Help for children in emergencies

Veneman also commented on the critical need for humanitarian access to reach children affected by conflict – not only in the Gaza Strip but also in countries such as Afghanistan, Somalia, Sri Lanka and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

As emergencies become increasingly complex, their impacts are more and more devastating, especially for vulnerable children. Veneman told the board that UNICEF remains dedicated to providing life-saving assistance to children affected by disasters – both natural and man-made – and to protecting child rights in even the most difficult circumstances.


 

 

Video

4 February 2009: UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman addresses the Executive Board at the opening of its first regular session of 2009.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search