Faits et chiffres sur les enfants

Protection de l’enfant

Chaque année, des centaines de millions d’enfants du monde entier sont victimes de l’exploitation, d’abus sexuels et de violence. Ils sont enlevés de leurs foyers et de leurs écoles, et enrôlés de force dans des armées; ils sont vendus à des réseaux de prostitution; ils sont forcés dans des situations de servitude pour dette et autres formes d’esclavage.

Les conséquences peuvent être catastrophiques. La violence et les abus sexuels peuvent tuer; le plus souvent ils portent atteinte à la santé physique et mentale de l’enfant, l’empêchent de recevoir une éducation. Ces enfants n’ont pas d’abris, deviennent des vagabonds et perdent tout espoir d’une vie meilleure. En outre, si un jour ils ont des enfants, il y a beaucoup plus de risques qu’ils les soumettent à leur tour à une forme ou autre de violence.

Bien que nombre d’enfants souffrent en silence, les conséquences de ces violences sont très graves. Elles apparaissent dans les taux de suicide particulièrement élevés chez les jeunes victimes d’exploitation sexuelle et dans les décès de filles suite à des mutilations génitales/excision. Il arrive que la communauté internationale soit moralement scandalisée par l’exploitation dont ces enfants sont victimes. Mais la protection de l’enfant se heurte régulièrement à des résistances à tous les niveaux de la société – des gouvernements aux dirigeants de la communauté et aux parents – parce que la violence sur enfants s’exerce le plus souvent en privé et est souvent associée à la criminalité et à la corruption. Souvent, elle est tolérée en privé et dénoncée en public.

Depuis 1986, on a créé de nombreux mécanismes et normes pour la protection de l’enfant. Il existe néanmoins un fossé profond entre les conventions internationales, droits nationaux et ce que les enfants vivent au quotidien. L’UNICEF a mis à jour six catégories d’enfant qui ont particulièrement besoin de notre attention.

Enfants en situation de servitude et de travail forcé. L’Organisation internationale du Travail estime à 246 millions le nombre d’enfants qui travaillent dans des conditions d’exploitation. Près des trois-quarts travaillent dans un environnement dangereux, mines ou usines par exemple, ou au contact de substances dangereuses comme des produits chimiques et des engrais agricoles. Environ 5,7 millions de ces enfants travaillent dans des circonstances particulièrement terribles, notamment les enfants qui se trouvent dans des conditions de servitude quasiment identiques à l’esclavage.

Enfants livrés à eux-mêmes, sans adultes qui s’occupent d’eux. Ces enfants sont privés de leurs premières sources de protection. Cette situation peut être temporaire ou définitive et elle concerne les enfants séparés de leur famille par la guerre, ceux que l’Etat  a soustraits à leurs parents ou encore ceux qui sont orphelins à cause du VIH/SIDA (13,4 millions d’après certaines estimations). Des millions d’enfants du monde entier sont livrés à eux-mêmes, vivant dans des institutions de diverse forme, pensionnats, hôpitaux, orphelinats, centres psychiatriques, prisons et maisons de correction. La plupart du temps, la séparation d’avec ses parents a des effets négatifs sur l’enfant, son bien-être et son développement. En outre, le placement en institution ne va pas sans risque. Lors des situations de conflit, la séparation d’avec la famille et la communauté, quelquefois à travers les frontières, augmente considérablement les risques que l’enfant soit exposé à la violence, aux abus sexuels et même à la mort. Les enfants qui survivent affrontent souvent la faim, les maladies, les traumatismes physiques et mentaux, et leur développement cognitif et affectif s’en trouve bloqué.

Les enfants victimes de la traite. Le commerce international d’enfants à des fins de travail ou de sexe est extrêmement lucratif. On estime que 1,2 million d’enfants sont victimes de trafics divers chaque année dans le monde. Comme toutes les autres formes de criminalité, la traite est une activité clandestine contre laquelle il est difficile de lutter. De plus, les familles en ignorent souvent les dangers, estimant que leurs enfants auront une chance d’avoir une vie meilleure en dehors de leur propre pays. Les enfants victimes de la traite sont souvent arrêtés et traités comme des immigrés clandestins. Des filles d’à peine 13 ans (le plus souvent d’Asie et d’Europe centrale) sont “vendues sur catalogue” pour servir d’épouse. Quelque 10 000 femmes et filles des pays voisins plus pauvres sont attirées dans une nation d’Asie du Sud-Est pour y travailler dans établissements de commerce du sexe.

Les enfants victimes de l’exploitation sexuelle. Bien qu’il soit difficile de savoir leur nombre, on estime qu’environ un million d’enfants (des filles en majorité, mais un nombre important de garçons également) sont exploités chaque année par l’industrie du sexe, une industrie qui brasse des milliards de dollars. L’abus sexuel des enfants à des fins commerciales est alimenté par la demande locale, et non pas étrangère, et le tourisme sexuel ne représente qu’une petite partie du problème. Les enfants victimes d’abus sexuels le sont le plus souvent par les gens qui sont le plus proches d’eux. Comme les activités sexuelles sont considérées généralement comme relevant du domaine privé, les gouvernements et les communautés répugnent souvent à intervenir dans les affaires d’exploitation sexuelle.

Les enfants utilisés comme soldats. Plus de 300 000 enfants soldats, certains ayant à peine 8 ans, sont exploités dans des conflits armés dans une trentaine de pays du monde entier. On estime que plus de 2 millions d’enfants sont morts directement des suites d'un conflit armé au cours de la dernière décennie. Six millions au moins ont été grièvement blessés ou handicapés à vie. Et chaque année, entre 8 000 et 10 000 enfants se font tuer ou mutiler par des mines terrestres.

Les enfants victimes de violences en dehors des conflits armés. La violence à l’encontre des enfants, des châtiments corporels bénins à diverses formes de torture, existe partout – à la maison, à l’école, dans les centres de détention et au travail. Elle a lieu partout, dans les pays riches comme dans les pays pauvres. Au Royaume-Uni, par exemple, les bébés de moins d’un an courent quatre fois plus de risques d’être tués que n’importe quelle autre catégorie d’âge; en grande majorité, ils sont tués par leurs parents. Autre forme de violence, approuvée par certaines sociétés, la mutilation génitale féminine/l’excision. On estime à 100 millions le nombre de femmes et filles vivant à l’heure actuelle et qui ont été victimes de cette pratique traditionnelle. Résultat, elles souffriront de problèmes de santé tout au long de leur vie, et risqueront davantage de mourir en couches ou de souffrir de graves séquelles.

La discrimination est souvent à l’origine de la violence et l’exploitation à l’encontre des enfants et elle est profondément ancrée dans de nombreuses sociétés. Sur les 120 à 150 millions d’enfants handicapés qui vivent dans les pays en développement, 3 pour cent seulement vont à l’école. La négation du droit de nombreux enfants à leur patrimoine constitue une autre forme de discrimination. En de nombreux pays, les orphelins sont privés de leur droits de propriété et dans un pays asiatique en particulier, un enfant né hors du mariage ne peut, de par la loi, hériter que de la moitié de ce que peut hériter un enfant né de parents officiellement mariés.


 

 

Español Français

Autres faits et chiffres sur les enfants

Liens

Facts on children

Child Protection

Hundreds of millions of children across the globe are victims of exploitation, abuse and violence each year. They are abducted from their homes and schools and recruited into the army. They are trafficked into prostitution rings. They are forced into debt bondage or other forms of slavery.

The consequences can be devastating. Violence and abuse can kill; more often they result in poor physical and mental health, deny a child education, or lead to homelessness, vagrancy, or a sense of hopelessness. Moreover, if and when they have children of their own, abused children are more likely to subject them to some form of abuse.

Though many children suffer in silence, the impact of their abuse is very real. It can be seen in the elevated suicide rates of sexually abused youngsters and in the deaths of young girls as a consequence of genital mutilation/cutting. The global community at times is morally outraged at the exploitation children endure.  Yet child protection remedies regularly meet with resistance at all levels of society – from governments to community leaders to parents – because child abuse occurs mostly in private and is associated with criminality and corruption. In many cases, it is privately tolerated and publicly denied. 

Since 1986, numerous international standards and mechanisms have been created for child protection. Nonetheless, enormous gaps still exist between international conventions, national laws, and what children experience every day. UNICEF has identified children in six different circumstances for priority attention:

Children in forced and bonded labour.  According to the International Labour Organization, an estimated 246 million children are engaged in exploitative child labour. Almost three quarters of them work in hazardous environments such as mines or factories, or with dangerous substances such as chemicals and agricultural pesticides. Some 5.7 million of these children work under especially horrific circumstances, including the virtual slavery of bonded labour.

Children without primary caregivers. Children without primary caregivers are deprived of their first source of protection. This can be a permanent or temporary situation, ranging from children who have been separated from their families by war, to those who have been removed by the state from parental care, to those who have been orphaned by HIV/AIDS (estimated at 13.4 million children).  At any given time, millions of children around the world are without primary caregivers in institutions including boarding schools, hospitals, orphanages, psychiatric units, prisons and detention centres. Separation from parents and family is usually detrimental to the overall well-being and development of a child. In addition, placement in institutions is known to carry risks. In conflict situations, involuntary separation from both family and community protection, sometimes across national borders, greatly increases a child’s risk of exposure to violence, physical abuse and even death. Children who survive often face malnutrition, illness, physical and mental trauma, and stunted cognitive and emotional development.

Children who are trafficked. The use of children as a commodity for labour or sex is a lucrative international trade. Worldwide, an estimated 1.2 million children are trafficked each year. Like other forms of criminal activity, trafficking is an underground activity and is difficult to address.  Moreover, families are often unaware of its dangers, believing that their children might have the chance for a better life outside their own country. Frequently, trafficked children are arrested and detained as illegal aliens. Girls as young as 13 (mainly from Asia and Eastern Europe) are trafficked as ‘mail-order brides’.   Up to 10,000 women and girls from poorer neighbouring countries have been lured into commercial sex establishments in one South-East Asian nation.

Children who are sexually exploited. Though it is difficult to quantify, about 1 million children (mainly girls, but also a significant number of boys) are exploited every year in the multibillion-dollar sex industry. Commercial sexual abuse of children is fuelled by local, not foreign, demand, with sexual tourism only a small part of the problem. The Internet, however, has the potential to promote sex tourism and child pornography globally and this is a cause of concern. Children are most often sexually abused by those closest to them. Since sexual activity is usually regarded as a private matter, governments and communities alike are often reticent to intervene in cases of sexual exploitation. 

Children who are used as soldiers. At any given time, over 300,000 child soldiers, some as young as eight, are exploited in armed conflicts in more than 30 countries around the world. More than 2 million children are estimated to have died as a direct result of armed conflict over the last decade. At least 6 million children have been seriously injured or permanently disabled.  Meanwhile, between 8,000 and 10,000 children continue to be killed or maimed by landmines each year.

Children subjected to violence outside of armed conflict. Violence against children, from mild corporal punishment to various forms of torture, can be found everywhere – from homes and schools to detention centres and places of work. It also occurs in all parts of the world, rich and poor alike. In the United Kingdom, for example, babies under one year of age are four times more likely to be murder victims than any other age group; almost all are killed by their parents. Another form of violence condoned by certain societies is that of female genital mutilation/cutting.  An estimated 100 million women and girls alive today have undergone some form of this traditional practice. As a result, they face lifelong health problems, including increased risks of dying or becoming disabled while giving birth.

Though it has not been singled out, discrimination is also often a factor in the abuse and exploitation of children. And it is deeply rooted in many societies. Out of 120 million to 150 million disabled children in developing countries, only 3 per cent attend school. Another form of discrimination is the deprivation many children face in their right to inheritance. In many countries, those orphaned routinely lose property rights, and in one Asian country, a child born out of wedlock is legally entitled to inherit only half of what a child born from a registered marriage would receive.


 

 

Español Français

Other facts on children

Related links